top of page
  • Writer's picturemelissa mel

Melissa Benoist on crazy things her ya old says & living in a haunted chocolate factory





Melissa Benoist on Crazy Things Her 3 Year Old Says & Living in a Haunted Chocolate Factory

JIMMY KIMMEL - just a few years ago our next guest

could fly now she is forced to use

public transportation like the rest of

us you can see new episodes of the girls

on the bus Thursdays on Max please

welcome Melissa

how are you?

MELISSA - great what a great Crow

JIMMY KIMMEL- you know the last time you're here

uh was I think you just had a baby right

MELISSA BENOIST - yeah! he was about a a year old just over

a year old

JIMMY KIMMEL- just okay just over a year

old so how old is he now

MELISSA BENOIST - he's three and

a half now like full-blown

JIMMY KIMMEL - oh that's a

fun that's a fun age and also a crazy age

MELISSA BENOIST - the hardest age yeah do you think

JIMMY KIMMEL - it's the hardest age for me well it's a

hardest age so far

MELISSA BENOIST - yeah is what it is

yeah

JIMMY KIMMEL - is you write down the things he

says the funny stuff

MELISSA BENOIST - oh yeah he's saying

weird things all the time he the other

today he said jump in

Jehoshaphat

JIMMY KIMMEL - what

MELISSA BENOIST - yeah Heavens to Betsy

it must I think

JIMMY KIMMEL - is he hanging around

with Joe Biden where is he getting

MELISSA BENOIST - no

it's just my husband

JIMMY KIMMEL - really how old is

your husband 85

MELISSA BENOIST - at heart at heart yes he

also um I was changing one day and he

saw like my bra and he called it he's

like oh those are mommy's booby traps

JIMMY KIMMEL - that's very clever

MELISSA BENOIST - it's really

good right like

JIMMY KIMMEL - that should be a product

the booby trap

MELISSA BENOIST - why didn't we call it

that in the first place

JIMMY KIMMEL - it's a very l

might be a genius your son actually

MELISSA BENOIST - maybe I should have him tested

JIMMY KIMMEL - you

should definitely have him tested for

sure although if the test comes back not

a genius

MELISSA BENOIST - it could go either way

JIMMY KIMMEL -yeah yeah this show that you're on I think is

there's an interesting little thing

about it and that is that it's based on

a a non-fiction book a true story but is

a fictional version of that story

MELISSA BENOIST - entirely fictionalized version of real

events in politics in recent history yes

JIMMY KIMMEL - the book is about a report a journalist

who was on like on the campaign tour

MELISSA BENOIST - yes

Amy chos

JIMMY KIMMEL - Amy with uh with Hillary

Clinton

MELISSA BENOSIT - yeah and she trailed she trailed

Obama with the Wall Street Journal in

2008 she trailed Hillary in 2016 and the

book is about her relationship with

Hillary

JIMMY KIMMEL - I see and it's an interesting

position to be in because you're kind of

like on one hand you're part of the team

you're with these people all the time

going from town to town but you're also

not at all part of the team

MELISSA BENOIST - no

JIMMY KIMMEL - no

MELISSA BENOIST - no not

at all but that was something I was

struck by that I don't think maybe

naively I didn't realize like how close

in proximity journalists are to the

candidates like you kind of get chummy

with them even though there there's that

laay that you're never going to really

yeah break through

JIMMY KIMMEL - yeah and if you do

that's probably a failure on their part

MELISSA BENOIST - yes

JIMMY KIMMEL - yeah

JIMMY KIMMEL - yeah

MELISSA BENOIST - and also it takes a

certain person to run for president of

the United States and I think

journalists are always very keenly aware

of that

JIMMY KIMMEL - uhhuh kind you think that

because I feel like

sometimes sometimes we vary from that uh

as far as the certain person type

MELISSA BENOIST yeah

JIMMY KIMMEL - that's true you rather be on the road

with Biden or Trump as a a pretend

journalist

MELISSA BENOIST - as a pretend journalist

JIMMY KIMMEL yeah

well which is what I me

MELISSA BENOIST - I do think that

Trump cracked the code because he's

giving them newsworthy stories every day

JIMMY KIMMEL - he's definitely more interesting he's

definitely not saying jump at

Jehoshaphat

MELISSA BENOIST - no although I would I do

wish that Biden would say that

JIMMY KIMMEL - yeah well

he I'm sure he does probably every time

he he steps on one of his

grandchildren's Legos he probably says

that Hum so and then also uh and I'm this

I'm guessing was not part of the the

book this real story that you talk to

your character talks to the ghost of

Hunter S Thompson

MELISSA BENOIST - I hope it wasn't part

of the real story if it was she didn't

tell everyone if it was

yeah

JIMMY KIMMEL - if it was

that is a perhaps a um a psychological

breakdown of some kind why is there a

ghost in this

MELISSA BENOIST - he sort of serves as the

devil on her shoulder and sort of her

inner voice and inner critic as a writer

because she my character kind of

idolizes this bygone era of Ro of

Journalism romanticizes

JIMMY KIMMEL - journalism yeah

yeah and because it's I think it's one

of those things that you go like you

know if I'm buying the show I go like oh

it's great and it's set and it's

interesting and like and there's a go

ghost and you're like uh maybe there

shouldn't be a ghost but but the the

ghost is working for you

MELISSA BENOIST - yeah he works

he works for her yeah I mean it's it's

it's an interesting line that we uh that

we tow because you know we I think

there's a line in the show that says if

hunteress Thompson were here today he'd

be an HR nightmare so we kind of

examined that

JIMMY KIMMEL - yeah yeah he'd shoot the

HR person what you do do you are you a

ghost person like do you

MELISSA BENOIST - I love

ghosts

JIMMY KIMMEL - you love ghosts

MELISSA BENOIST - I all I want in

life is to see a UFO and have a ghost

story and I thought I saw a UFO once in

on vacation down near Florida and it was

just a test of

JIMMY KIMMEL - everybody sees uos in

Florida

JIMMY KIMMEL - it have you seen a ghost

MELISSA BENOIST - I no you know

what I haven't I don't have like a juicy

ghost story but I did used to live in

this building when I lived in Brooklyn

in the Navy Yard it was like an old

Chocolate Factory back in the industrial

revolution and we used to hear like

Footsteps in the hall when me and my

roommate knew we were the only ones

there

JIMMY KIMMEL - fat ghosts walking around the

Chocolate Factory

MELISSA BENOIST - and we like to think

that he like died in

aoop

JIMMY KIMMEL - style it smell like chocolate

MELISSA BENOIST - no it

didn't I mean it was pretty modernized

they had done some Renovations but

JIMMY KIMMEL - wow

you lived in an abandoned Chocolate

Factory that's pretty I mean that's

another show on its

own well it's very good to see you the

show is called uh it's called the girls

on the bus you can watch new episodes

Thursdays on max Melissa Benoist

everybody thank you good to see you

we'll be back with Ranna and get

7 views

Recent Posts

See All

Topher Grace series The Waterfront season1

Topher Grace Joins Kevin Williamson’s Netflix Series ‘The Waterfront’ EXCLUSIVE: Topher Grace has been tapped for a recurring role on the...

Comments


bottom of page