top of page
  • Writer's picturemelissa mel

Melissa Benoist participates in the Podcast Work In Progress with Sophia Bush. They talk about diffe

Melissa Benoist participates in the Podcast Work In Progress with Sophia Bush. They talk about different subjects and their experience as SuperGirl and the book Haven's Secret

Melissa's ep w. Sophia Bush was incredible. She talked abt work, mental health, family, Chris, Huxley, Haven's Secret & her DV experience. Her strength, intelligence, honesty and openness never ceases to amaze me. Give it a listen if you haven't already



Melissa Benoist participates in the Podcast Work In Progress with Sophia Bush. They talk about different subjects and their experience as SuperGirl and the book Haven's Secret


"I loved having Chris back, obviously"


"Obviously, getting to work with my wife one final time as she put her show to rest, that was obviously icing on the cake"


"I was really not allowed to celebrate and I actually got in trouble for getting the role"


My heart breaks, I just want to hug her

"Hopefully I embody this character, what people expect her to be, and what she stands for. I hope she translates in me just trying to be myself and bringing that"


You did Melissa, you absolutely did, you were and are the best Supergirl

"I'm really shy when it comes to being myself in public, just I'm not great at social media and sharing like the personal parts of things, it doesn't come naturally to me.


Being myself and seeing the way young women and girls would react and respond"

"It was so stressful and emotional and confusing, there were moments that just felt so incredible and right and then moments where I was like 'Oh this is why I have to be done'. It was like 6 years wrapped in 2 weeks"


Melissa talking about wrapping Supergirl, all the emotions

"My husband and I had to pack up this apartment we've been living in for years"


"Just be Melissa, I'm a mom"

"Now we have this like revolving door of guests staying at our house, which is wonderful and so nourishing but we're exhausted in the best way

"And finding some clarity as to what I want to do with my life, almost like paving this new launching pad so to speak, and kind of creating that with my husband as a partner"

"I only just feel like, this is a skill I'm learning is presence and doing that with my son, having moments, hours during the day where I'm not near my phone.


I'm just watching him become the little human that he is"

"I feel for the first time like I don't have to do anything"

"I don't want to miss a single moment with him. He is so wonderful and he is like my little best friend"


Melissa talking about Huxley, my heart

Melissa talking about when she left that abusive relationship, the fact that she always knew she wanted to talk about it, she is so brave, so strong.


I admire her so much. Her strength, her courage, the courage to talk about it and help so any people, she is just incredible

"You're very happily married, Chris is a wonderful husband, you're beaming when you talk about your son"

"Being in tune and taking care of your mind is really powerful"

"Chris and I met at the perfect time"


"We met each other at the perfect time in our lives. He was so supportive and held like a huge amount of space for my healing journey"


"I was so alive in that moment and so ready to let Chris in because he was kind of matching that with me 'I see you, I see what's happening and I'm going through my own version of that'

"Dating was really hard. I'm so lucky that Chris is who he is, and was so compassionate and held so much empathy for me and would not match my triggers. I don't know how, uncannily so, he would always know when it wasn't me reacting, it was my history.""

"He was so calm and patient and loving, I wish that for every single woman, I'm so lucky to have found that love"

"There is just something so wonderful about writing on paper it really helps my mind kind of declutter"

"He was so calm and patient and loving, I wish that for every single woman, I'm so lucky to have found that love"

"I was so alive in that moment and so ready to let Chris in because he was kind of matching that with me 'I see you, I see what's happening and I'm going through my own version of that'

51 views

Recent Posts

See All

Topher Grace series The Waterfront season1

Topher Grace Joins Kevin Williamson’s Netflix Series ‘The Waterfront’ EXCLUSIVE: Topher Grace has been tapped for a recurring role on the...

6 Comments


Jerry Dutra
Jerry Dutra
Nov 25, 2021


Like

Jerry Dutra
Jerry Dutra
Nov 25, 2021

hate spawns hate shame on those who hate melissa an chris melissa been a beckon of light for me she gave me alot of courage to open up about abuse an i will always cherish her kindness😎😍😀.

Like

Brenda Bisbiglia
Brenda Bisbiglia
Nov 23, 2021

I’m very happy that Melissa is happy with Chris and Huxley they are the

best little family. One thing I would want to tell Chris and Melissa is to be the best

that you guys can be and if there’s Any hate threats toward you and you’re family just

Ignore it which I’m sure you do. I wish the best for you’re family 😊

Like

Jerry Dutra
Jerry Dutra
Nov 23, 2021


Like
Jerry Dutra
Jerry Dutra
Nov 23, 2021
Replying to

meant in all your life holds in store for you an your family


Like

Jerry Dutra
Jerry Dutra
Nov 23, 2021

great interview glad you found happiness glad you found chris an your son huxley is your greatest gift bless you all

Like
bottom of page